Happy Agili-versary

Blog friends!

It’s my one-year anniversary in competing in Extreme Fur Sports!   Can you believe it?  I know, me neither.

Super Extreme Springer Spaniel!

I’m hoping this year I’ll get my official Agility Dog title, so I can join the elite club of Springer Spaniels to do so.   How do you get an Agility Dog title you ask?  Well, in honor of my Agili-versary, I’ll explain to you the complicated world of Extreme Fur Sports.

First thing you need to do to get a title, is to join the Championship titling class of the USDAA (US Dog Agility Assoc).  They will measure you and figure out what height you will compete at.  I measure 19 1/2″ at my shoulder, so I jump at the 22″ height.  If I measured over 22″ I’d jump at the highest height which is 26″.  Lacie is at the 26″ height because she measures in at 22 1/2″.  The most popular height is 22″, so I have a lot of competition, but they go down as low as 8″, so all sorts of dogs can compete.

Then you have to go to agility trials (once you’ve trained on all the obstacles) and compete in a number of different agility sport classes.  There are three different levels you could compete at: Starters, Advanced, and Masters.  Everyone starts in Starters, and when you earn your Agility Dog title you move up to Advanced.  Within each level, the different sport classes are: Standard, Jumpers, Gamblers, Snooker, and Pairs.  To get your Agility Dog title, you have to run a Qualifying round (or Q… which means you ran a clean course under a certain amount of time) in 3 Standard classes, and 1 each of all the other classes.  I currently have Q’s in Jumpers, Snooker, Pairs, and Standard.  So to get my title I need 2 more Q’s in Standard and 1 in Gamblers.

The name of the game is to Q, but it’s also nice to get first place.  When you Q and get a first place, it’s called a Super-Q, and you’ll need these in the Masters level to get some other fancy titles.  I’ve gotten a few Super-Q’s, but at the Starters level, it’s really just an ego boost.  😀

I think my favorite class to run in is Jumpers, because Jumpers just has jumps and tunnels.  No contact obstacles (which are the A-frame, dog walk, and teeter), and no weaves (which really slow me down).  It’s a fast spring-tastic course!

Super-Spring Jumper Class

My second favorite would be Snooker, because a lot of times my dad screws things up but in Snooker it doesn’t always matter.  Hehehehe.  Lacie is competing in her first trial this weekend, and she’s going to do just Jumpers and Snooker.  I bet she’ll love them as much as I do!
Happy Agili-versary!  I hope you all have a fun agile day. 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kubby and chloe's mom on July 19, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    I love this post! Good summary of competition Lola! Woofs and wags to miss Lacie this weekend! We will be cheering for you all!

    k,c,p,r&l 🙂

    Reply

    • We’ll miss you too Coach Rachel! I wouldn’t be a super agility star if it weren’t for your awesomeness. 🙂 Lacie is planning to clean up in 26″ Starters… mostly because she has only one other dog to compete against, but also because she’s crazy smart. If I didn’t know better, I’d think she was half Springer Spaniel. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

